, puttycyg, Poderosa’s cygterm. Eric Blake 2010-08-02 20:09:10 UTC. Edit: to be clear, I DON'T want to install Cygwin. Bash is a shell, and MinTTY is a terminal emulator. If you examine the MinTTY shortcut that Cygwin’s setup.exe builds, you will find that I am a strange developer. Thus, if you had to run bash.exe outside MinTTY for some reason, you could say bash -l to get behavior somewhat closer to that of bash.exe when run via mintty -. My preferred development environment is GCC running in a simulated BASH shell on Windows. In encountered exactly the same problem with minnty and with xterm running under the XWin server immediately upon, (gratefully and eagerly!) If you examine the MinTTY shortcut that Cygwin's setup.exe builds, you will find that it isn't a simple launch of the program. Is there a way to make MinTTY as a default terminal for WSL, when launching whatever shortcut? ... VS Code will launch a bash login shell on start up. Make sure you have an /etc/passwd (see mkpasswd(1)) in your Cygwin environment, and set the shell for your UID to /usr/bin/bash. In Visual Studio Code, you can open an integrated terminal, initially starting at the root of your workspace. Jean Johner. mintty is a free and open source terminal emulator for Cygwin, the Unix-like environment for Windows. Makefile 30 3 utils. Mintty as a terminal for Bash on Ubuntu on Windows / WSL C 2.7k 95 mintty. CTRL-S still results in inactivation of input in a Mintty bash session with the bonus that CTRL-Q no longer cures the situation. MinTTY has much better copy-paste behavior than Windows’ console does, for example, particularly on Windows 8 and older. I am trying to run Unix commands on both the bash.exe and mintty.exe, found in Cygwin64/bin (e.g., usr/bin/bash.exe). javascript – window.addEventListener causes browser slowdowns – Firefox only. This particular question was answered in the INVOCATION section of the MinTTY manual page. For MSYS2, mintty is installed by default, or it can be ins